Celebrating thrift

Get yourself some new guttkas

This cartoon triggered a memory for me of my Mum saving precious moments by mending clothes while I was still wearing them.  And, of course, this cartoon reminds us of the old-fashioned virtue of thrift.  Those brought up in the Depression of the thirties, through the war and in the days of rationing afterwards valued resources and loathed waste.   And thrift was both a necessity and part of the culture for Celie and Ab as children of refugees.

Guttkas is one of my favourite Yiddish words.  It’s not a word that to my ears conjures up elegant, pleated, tailored trousers.  Guttkas to me is an earthy word – these are everyday working trousers.

Leave a Reply

